top of page

Kurrawa Looking to Perth for the 2018 Aussies

It's almost here. The biggest sporting event on the calendar for surf clubs all over Australia (no offence Comm Games).

The 2018 Australian Surf Life Saving Championships, held in different locations every year, will be coming to Scarborough, Perth in just a few days. For many athletes, this is the culmination of a year's worth of training and smaller carnivals to reach this level, and Kurrawa is no different.

This year, Kurrawa will have 102 athletes heading to the west coast to compete over Youth, Masters and Open Australian Titles.

The Breakdown

Our beach contingent is a force to be reckoned with, as 29 of them have their eyes on the gold.

Special mentions include:

Casie Fyall: New Zealand SLSA Open Team member

Nicole Kay: Previous 2 x Australian Champ in the Beach Sprint (2013 & 2016)

Placed 6th at the recent Commonwealth Games Trials in the 200m

                       Selected in the Open Australian Team to compete at the Melanesian Champs in May

Caleb Enright: 2018 QLD State U19 Beach Sprint Champion

Jason Gough: 2018 QLD State Open Beach Flags Champion

Bree Masters: Current World Beach Sprint Champion

                              2018 QLD State Beach Sprint Champion

                              Overall Flags Champ for Ocean 6

Our water athletes are sure to make a few competitors nervous with some impressive achievements behind them:

Matt Bevilacqua: Current Nutri-Grain Ironman Champion

                              3x Molokai Board Paddle Champion (last 3 consecutive years)

                              Current Australian Representative at the International Surf Rescue Challenge

Matt Poole:       2017 Nutri-Grain Ironman Champion

                              Molokai Board Paddle Champion 2014

Solomon Wright: Open water swim specialist

                              Current Pier to Pub Champion

                              2nd Rottness Island Channel Swim

Brielle Cooper Current Nutri-Grain Ironwoman Champion

                              2nd U19 Ironwoman QLD State Titles

Bay Wilden Snedden: Won U19 State Ironwoman Title  2017 & 2018

                              Qualified for 2 rounds of the Nutri-Grain Ironwoman Series          

Bonnie Hancock: Current Overall Ski Champion for Ocean 6 Series     

Rebecca Creedy: 2 x Australian Ironwoman Champion 2014 & 2016

Callum Lowe-Griffith: Captain of the Australian Youth Life Saving Team 2016

                                             U15 Australian Ironman Champion

Our boaties are also raring to go after a great run at State Titles, despite the weather conditions!

We wish all our athletes the very best of luck for the 2018 Aussies and we wanted to thank Nolans Transport for providing the logistics of all our equipment across Australia - no small feat!

353 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page